3 Main Types of Tigerwood

The three main types of tigerwood are Lovoa Trichilioides, Goncalo Alves, and Astronium Fraxinifolium. Different species of tigerwood have several names such as African walnut, Brazilian Koa, Zorrowood, Congowood, and Bototo. Tigerwood has a modest tan brown color with a blend of red and orange undertones. It is commonly used in flooring and furniture building.

The name ‘Tigerwood’ is due to the exotic grain of the wood that blends with the bold stripes. This combination resembles that of a tiger’s colors. Hence, tigerwood, the exotic and unusual wood species that are popular throughout North America.

Lovoa Trichilioides

Lovoa trichilioides, African walnut, Congowood, dibetou or tigerwood is native to Africa. It’s the most common Tigerwood species.

This type of tigerwood has a yellowish-brown color. It often exhibits a mixture of black and golden marks.

It is a valued type of wood used for high-class furniture, plywood, flooring, stairways, etc.

Goncalo Alves

Gonçalo Alves is a hardwood also referred to as tigerwood. The name reflects the wood’s often dramatic, contrasting color scheme.

It is often compared to rosewood. Brazil is a major exporter of this species of tigerwood.

The coloring is usually golden brown to reddish-brown, often with dark and brown streaks.

Astronium Fraxinifolium

Astronium fraxinifolium is a timber tree native to the Amazon Rainforest. Common names include kingwood, locust wood, tigerwood, and zebrawood.

It is mainly used to make furniture and is often featured in cabinetwork. The coloring is yellow-brown or yellowish-brown, in the early stages. But with time it turns to a deep, dark brownish-black color, coupled with spaced black-brown veins.

It’s the most resistant tigerwood species. It is resistant to fungi, termites, and dry wood borers. It is also extremely durable.


Add Comment